David E. Moncton: Resume



Nuclear Reactor Laboratory
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
138 Albany St.
Cambridge, MA 02139
(617) 253-8333


B.S. Engineering Physics 1970, Cornell University (1966-1970)

M.S. Physics 1973, Ph.D. Physics 1975, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (1970-1975)


5/75 to 1/82 Member of Technical Staff, Bell Laboratories
1/82 to 4/85 Physicist and Group Leader, Brookhaven National Laboratory
4/85 to 12/90 Senior Research Associate and Group Head, Exxon Corporate Research
5/87 to 9/01 Associate Laboratory Director, Argonne National Laboratory
3/99 to 3/01 Executive Director, Spallation Neutron Source, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (position held concurrently with Argonne employment)
9/01 to1/04 Visiting Professor, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (position held concurrently with Argonne employment)
1/04 to 7/19 Director, Nuclear Reactor Laboratory, and Adjunct Professor of Physics, Massachusetts Institute of Technology


Fellow, American Physical Society

Fellow, Neutron Scattering Society of America

Member, American Association for the Advancement of Science

Consultant, Bell Laboratories (1982-84)

Consultant, Exxon Corporate Research (1984-85, 1990-1993)

Member (1980-81) and Chairman (1982-83) of the Stanford Synchrotron Users Association

Member, Planning Study for Advanced National Synchrotron Facilities (1983-84)

Member (1985-86) and Chairman (1987) of the Advanced Photon Source Steering Committee

Member of the Proposal Review Panel for the Cornell High-Energy Synchrotron Source (CHESS) (1987-1989)

Member of the Basic Energy Sciences Advisory Committee (1987-89)

Member, Materials Research Advisory Committee for the National Science Foundation (1990-1993)

Member, Policy and Advisory Board for the Cornell High-Energy Synchrotron Facility (1987-1996)

Member, Niels Bohr Institute Advisory Committee, University of Copenhagen, Denmark (1996-2000)

Member, MIT Materials Research Science and Engineering Center Advisory Board (1994-2002)

Member, Solid State Sciences Committee, National Research Council (1997-2001)

External Member, Plenary Research Committee, Paul Scherrer Institut, Switzerland (1997-2007)

Alumni/ae Representative, MIT Corporation Visiting Committee for the Department of Nuclear Engineering (1998-2003)

Member, Scientific Advisory Committee for the Spallation Neutron Source (SNS) Project, Oak Ridge National Laboratory (1998-1999, 2003-2007)

American Physical Society, Study Panel on National Missile Defense (2001-2004)

American Physical Society, Physics Policy Committee (2002-2004)

Founding Member of the International Science Advisory Committee to the Central Laboratory of Research Councils (United Kingdom) (2002-2006)

German Science Council’s Subcommittee on Free Electron Lasers (2001-2002)

Proposal Selection Panel—Joint Program of the Hahn Meitner Institute and the Berlin Synchrotron (2002-2004)

Member, Expert Committee Canadian Foundation for Innovation (2006)

Consultant, MW Zander Inc. (2003-2006)

Consultant, University of Wisconsin (2006-2009)

Consultant, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (2011-2012)

Consultant and Technical Advisory Committee Chairman, Starcore Nuclear (2011-present)

Consultant, Covington and Burlington (2012)

Chairman, Qatar Foundation Workshop on Compact X-ray Sources (2014)


Fellowship in the American Physical Society (1982)

Outstanding Scientific Accomplishment in Solid State Physics, U.S. Dept. of Energy 1985 Materials Research Competition. "Synchrotron X-ray Studies of the Magnetic Structure of Holmium”

Department of Energy's Ernest Orlando Lawrence Memorial Award, 1987, for development of high resolution synchrotron x-ray scattering techniques and their applications to diverse materials systems

Achievement Rewards for College Scientists (ARCS) Foundation, Scientist of the Year (1994)

Award of Recognition by the Chicago Area Sigma Xi Chapters, 1995, for contributions to the advancement of research in materials science, and for the construction of the Advanced Photon Source

Leo Szilard Lectureship Award (2005) from the American Physical Society for the APS Study Group on Boost Phase Intercept for National Missile Defense

Bragg Memorial Lecture of the Physics and Astronomy Department of University College London (2006)

Fellowship in the Neutron Scattering Society of America (2013)

Co-Recipient of the 2013 Advanced Photon Source Arthur H. Compton Award, for the development of the "top-up" mode of storage ring operation at the Advanced Photon Source